Ballery Concert Series


Director: Leonardo Reyna

In collaboration with Steinway & Sons Berlin, The Ballery invites you to a concert of music by Cuban classical composers. The program ‘Cuba Inside of a Piano’ is directed by Havana born pianist Leonardo Reyna (National Cuban Symphony Orchestra) and celebrates the works of composers including Ignacio Cervantes, Carlos Fariñas, Andres Allen & Ernesto Lecuona.

For ‘Cuba Inside of Piano’ Leonardo Reyna will be joined by guest Berlin based Cuban musicians. This concert was first performed to a sell out audience at The Ballery in September 2017. Tickets 15/10€ can be purchased online or at the venue. Advanced ticket sales include reserved seating. Reserved tickets by email/phone will be held until 30 minutes before the performance.

Date: Friday 2nd February 2018
Doors open 19h30
Concert begins 20h00

Next Concert

“Currently living in Berlin, I have been pursuing my musical journey in different countries for over the past twenty years, on one and the other side of the Atlantic, where I have expanded my knowledge and appreciation of the world, and yet finding my own musical “island” which is touched by different flavours and still representative of a new Cuban expression. 

Distant and yet very attached and still intrigued by my roots, I felt the need of finding the sound perhaps a more representative one of my own musical identity. I am currently working on music compositions that in my opinion, melt the Afro-Cuban diaspora present in the Yoruba culture, brought to the island by the African slaves in the XVI Century, preserved as one of the foundation stones of the Cubanism, together with the distinguished and diverse landscape of sounds that the European music has so far given me along with my growth as an artist”   – Leonardo Reyna